Galway Regatta 2018

The 135th Galway Regatta will be held on Sunday 17th June on the Menlo Straight on the River Corrib.

Over 180 crews representing clubs including Athlone, Colaiste Iognaid, CCRC, Galway, Grainne Mhaol, Shannon, St. Joseph’s College, Tribesmen,  Lady Elizabeth BC and Lagan Scullers Club will race in Masters and Junior events, many of whom will be gearing up for one of the biggest domestic events of the year, Cork Regatta at the National Rowing Centre, the following weekend. The Galway Regatta takes place on a 700-metre, 3-lane “sprint” course, and racing will run from 9am Sunday morning until after 5pm that evening.

In the exciting junior men’s eights contest, last year’s winners St. Joseph’s will be once again challenged by runners up Colaiste Iognaid, who will also have a second crew entered this year, and will be joined by an eight from Cumann Ramhai­ochta Cholaiste na Coiribe (CRCC). Meanwhile in the junior women’s eights, it’s set to be a repeat of 2017’s match between Colaiste Iognaid and rivals Galway RC – can the Jes retain their title?

For full information on Sunday’s event including draw, see the event page here.

Best wishes to everyone for a safe and successful Regatta.


Main Sponsors:

Business Suppliers: