Irish Indoor Rowing Championships Review


The Irish Indoor Rowing Championships was held on Saturday 25th in the University of Limerick Sports Arena.

There were 99 races held throughout the day with over 1300 participants. There was a large crowd to support all the participants throughout the day. There was a number of Irish Records and personal times broken on Saturday.

World Champions Sanita Puspure, Paul O’Donovan and Fintan McCarthy all competed at the event as well as the other High-Performance athletes.

Sanita Puspure broke the Irish Indoor Record with a time of 06:34.5 finishing ahead of Aifric Keogh (06:41.4) and Fiona Murtagh (06:46.8).

Paul O’Donovan also broke an Irish record and won the Lightweight Men’s race with a time of 06:04.8. Paul finished ahead of Fintan McCarthy (06:10.0) and Shane O’Driscoll (6:11.5).

World Silver Medallists Philip Doyle was the third High-Performance athlete to break an Irish record with a time of 05:51.1. Philip beat out Damien Brown (06:02.7) and Shane Haugh (06:02.9) to win the Men’s Open weight race.

Gary O’Donovan and Tara Hanlon couldn’t compete due to illness.

High-Performance Results:

WO Sania Puspure 06:34.5 WU23 Emily Hegarty 06:49.0
Aifric Keogh 06:41.4 Claire Feerick 07:15.6
Fiona Murtagh 06:46.8
Eimear Lambe 06:52.8 LMO Paul O’Donovan 06:04.8
Natalie Long 06:53.5 Fintan McCarthy 06:10.0
Monika Dukarska 06:54.6 Shane O’Driscoll 06:11.5
Aileen Crowley 06:55.9 Jake McCarthy 06:18.3
Miles Taylor 06:24.3
LMU23 Hugh Moore 06:21.0 Ryan Ballantine 06:29.9
Hugh Sutton 06:23.9
MU23 Ronan Byrne 05:53.8
Alex Byrne 05:58.9
Ross Corrigan 06:00.4

Rowing Ireland would like to congratulate all participants that competed in the 2020 Irish Indoor Rowing Championships, we look forward to next year as the IIRC continues to grow each year.

Full list of results for the 99 races:

Main Sponsors:

Business Suppliers:

HTML Snippets Powered By :