Irish Rowing Championships 2019- Day 1

The 2019 Irish Rowing Championships began today in the National Rowing Centre, Farran Woods. With 1,224 crews entered for the weekend’s event it is the biggest Irish Championships on record.

Athletes from more than 60 clubs from all four provinces raced down the championship course on Inniscarra Lake where the standard of competition was impressively high throughout the day across each category.

Rowing Ireland’s High- Performance Operations Manager and Pathway Coordinator, Fran Keane said “There were a lot of impressive results from selected Coupe De Le Jeunesse athletes, Ciara Egan and Sadhbh Scully won the Junior Women’s Double becoming the first female junior Irish Champions for their club Carlow Rowing Club. With this win Sadhbh Scully also secured her place to the Coupe. Sadhbh and Ciara both started rowing through the highly successful schools rowing programme Get Going..Get Rowing which had a staggering 30,000 students rowing in 2018. Lucy McCoy of Belfast Boat Club finished second in the race to secure her place also. The Junior Men’s Coupe Quad finished first, second, third and fourth in the Junior Men’s Single Sculls Event, with Tom Kelly of Kenmare Rowing and Boat Club winning and becoming his clubs first ever Irish Championship winner.”

There was a fantastic battle between Shandon Boat Club and Cork Boat Club in the Men’s Intermediate 4 race, with Cork Boat Club powering ahead to take the win in the end. In the Women’s Senior 4- NUIG had an impressive win against Skibbereen to take the 2019 title.

Full results can be viewed here: 

For live results throughout the Championships please follow @irishchamps2019 on Twitter.

Elsewhere today, 6 crews competed in World Cup III, in Rotterdam. Racing was postponed until this afternoon due to adverse weather conditions and races were then held as time trialled events.

Heat Results

W2- Monika Dukarska & Aileen Crowley – 2nd

M2x Philip Doyle & Ronan Byrne – 1st

LM1x Gary O’Donovan – 3rd

LM1x Jake McCarthy – 2nd

LW2x Denise Walsh & Lydia Heaphy – 4th

LM2x Paul O’Donovan & Fintan McCarthy 1st


Main Sponsors:

Business Suppliers: