June Trials Invitation and Provisional Time Table

The Following is a list of athletes and crews invited to the June Trials

Please read the notes below carefully.



Lightweight Men

Paul O Donovan (UCC)

Gary O Donovan (Skibbereen)

Fintan McCarthy (Skibbereen)

Jake McCarthy (Skibbereen)


Lightweight Women

Denise Walsh (Skibbereen)

Aoife Casey (UCC)

Lydia Heaphy (Skibbereen)

Cliodhna Nolan (NUIG)


SA Heavy Men

Phil Doyle (BBC)

Ronan Byrne (UCC) ~u23

Fionan Crowley (CCBC)

Patrick Boomer (BRC)

Shane O’Driscoll (Skib)

Mark O’Donovan (Skib)

Alex Byrne (Shandon)


SA Heavy Men (Subject to 2k ergo test)

James McAnallen (NC)

James Quinlan (CCBC)

Daire Lynch (NC) ~u23

Trevor Kelly (NC) ~u23

Mark Doyle (CCBC) ~u23

Shane Haugh (CCBC)

Andy Harrington (Shandon)


SA Heavy Women

Sanita Puspure (OCBC)

Natalie Long (SKIB)

Monika Dukarska (Kilorglin)

Aifric Keogh (UCC)

Aileen Crowley (OCBC)

Eimear Lambe (UCD) ~u23

Claire Feerick (Neptune) ~u23

Emily Hegarty (UCC) ~u23

Tara Hanlon (UCC) ~u23




Cormac O’Connell

Aisling Humphries-Griffiths

Eoin Finnegan

Josh Russell (NUIG)


Lightweight Women U23

Lydia Heaphy (Skib)

Cliodhna Nolan (NUIG)


Lightweight Men U23

Ryan Ballantine (Newcastle)

Eoin Gaffney (Shandon)

Hugh Moore (QUBBC)

Miles Taylor (QUBBC)

Hugh Sutton (UCC)


Heavyweights Men U23

Ross Corrigan (QUBBC)

Brion O’Rourke (NUIG)

David Breen (UCC)

Jack Keating (Carlow)

Eoghan Whittle (NUIG)


Heavyweights Women U23

Eimear Lambe (UCD)

Claire Feerick (Neptune)

Emily Hegarty (UCC)

Tara Hanlon (UCC)

Murphy Lisa (NUIG)

Niamh Casey (UCC)

Katie Shirlow (Bann)

Clara O’Brien (UL)

Sorcha O’Donnell (NUIG)



Pre-Selected Junior World Championship Crews


John Kearney (Cork)

Jack Dorney (Shandon)

James O’ Donovan (Castleconnell)

Matthew Gallagher (St. Josephs)

Leah O’ Regan (Shandon)



Molly Curry (CGS)

Rhiannon O’ Donoghue (Killorglin)


Pre-Selected Coupe de la Jeunesse Crews


Lucy McCoy (Belfast)

Aoife Lynch (Lee)

Sadhbh Scully (Carlow)

Anna Tyther (Killorglin)



Chris Kirwin (SMRC)

Grace Healy (Commercial)



Jane Duggan (Cork)

Claragh O’ Sullivan (Cork)



Rory O’ Neill (Castleconnell)

Finn O’ Reilly (Skibbereen)

Thomas Kelly (Kenmare)

Andrew Sheehan (Lee)


Pre- Selected Junior Home International Crews (Further testing)


Alison Daly (Commercial)

Sarah Daly (Commercial)

Niamh Kiely (Castleconnell)

Lauren O’ Brien (Castleconnell)



  1. Invited athletes are asked to read the published timetable carefully and to also study the notes attached before confirming entry
  2. It is the club’s responsibility to have an adequate equipment for any of their athletes involved. Please touch base with the category leading coach.
  3. Club coaches are asked to attend in support of their athletes and to volunteer to assist in the running of the trial as required
  4. Lightweight Athletes: unless otherwise agreed with the HPD the required weight for this trial is not heavier than 72.5 kg for LW Men and not heavier than 59 kg for LW Women. Coxes may not be heavier than 57 kg. Weigh-in is between 1 and 2 hours before your race time each day
  5. Coaches must confirm their athlete’s attendance by emailing the category lead coach of the respective category no later than Wednesday 12 June.
  6. Entry Fee for this event is €30.00 per person.  The entry fee will go towards the cost of running the event. Entry fees are to be paid by Wednesday 12 June and must be done via https://www.rowingireland.ie/payments/pay.php?type=other

Pick High Performance Trials from the drop down menu write your name, boat and club in the description box. If entry fees are not paid before this date athletes will not be entered on the start list

  1. The U23 and Jun list is provisional and subject to the continued submission and performance of the weekly erg monitoring sessions as published following the previous trials. Failure to do so may result in the removal of athletes from the invitation list
  2. The HPD, in consultation with the leading coaches, reserves the right to make changes to this list prior to the trials based on updated information and continued monitoring/testing of athletes. All invited athletes/crews are also subject to being tested in various combinations as deemed necessary by the HPD and leading coaches
  3. Invitation to this trial does not guarantee selection. All crews (including pre-selected) must show continued improvement and performance from previous testing.


Coaches email addresses:

Senior HW: david.mcgowan@rowingireland.ie

Senior LW: dominic.casey@rowingireland.ie

U23: giuseppe@rowingireland.ie james.mangan@rowingireland.ie

Junior: fran.keane@rowingireland.ie

Provisional Time Table

Provisional Timetable (June Trials 2019)

Main Sponsors:

Business Suppliers:

HTML Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com