Portora win Junior Team of the Year Award

Congratulations to Portora Boat Club’s Junior 8 crew who last night picked up the Junior Team of the Year Award at the Belfast Telegraph Sports Awards.

It was a great surprise for the Club to see their crew in the final 4 nominations for best Junior Team from NI. However their performances at Ulster level, as well as their first Irish Junior Mens 8 Championship for 34 years, were sited as reasons for receiving the award, as they stormed ahead of the other impressive nominations.

At the gala dinner which was held last night, Monday January 26th, Richard Archibald, Olympic rower who was representing SINI (Sport NI), was on hand to present the crew with the Belleek trophy.

The boys presented themselves well on stage, and Derek Holland, Dave Ewart and Tony Hart were in the supporting audience.
Well done to the crew on their performances and to everyone who helped in the initiative to get them recognised.
Portora  71704jpg

Main Sponsors:

Business Suppliers: