University Championships of Ireland Regatta 2018

The 2018 University Championships of Ireland Regatta takes place on Friday April 13 on the 6-lane, 2000 metre championship course at the National Rowing Centre.

Over 140 crews from 10 different universities and colleges around the country will compete in the event, many of whom will also race in the Skibbereen Grand League Regatta

The action is set to kick off at 9:30am with the senior men’s fours (straight final) and races will run throughout the day, with the final contest being the Senior Eights from 4:20pm.

Universities and college crews competing include University College Cork (UCC RC), Dublin City University (DCU RC), Dublin University (DUBC/DULBC), Queen’s University Belfast (QUBBC/QUBLBC), University of Limerick (UL RC), the National University of Ireland Galway (NUIG BC), University College Dublin (UCD BC), Cork Institute of Technology (CIT RC), Dublin Institute of Technology (DIT) and Galway Mayo Institute of Technology (GMIT).

Trinity College (DUBC) was the overall winner of the University Championships last year, while UCD claimed the Wylie Cup (men’s eights) and NUIG took the Bank of Ireland Trophy (women’s eights). An exciting day of rowing is in store tomorrow as these clubs are now challenged to retain their titles.

UCD has an advantage this year, with three of the Rowing Ireland international high performance athletes, World Under 23 bronze medallists Shane Mulvaney, David O’Malley and Andrew Goff competing for their university club, while fellow World U23 Bronze medal winner, Niall Beggan, competes for DIT.

For full details on the University Championships race events, including draw and live results, click HERE.

Best of luck to all athletes, coaches and volunteers on the day.


NUIG – last year’s winners of the Bank of Ireland trophy.


Main Sponsors:

Business Suppliers: