World Cup II 16-18 June 2017, Poznan, Poland

The 2017 World Rowing Cup series heads to Poznan, Poland for the second of three regattas in the series. Almost 500 athletes will compete from 39 countries with several countries, including Australia, China and New Zealand, arriving on the international scene for the first time this season. The event will be staged from 16-18 June 2017 on Lake Malta, near the city centre of Poznan.

The Olympic gold and silver medallists from the lightweight men’s double sculls are back racing each other again. France’s Jeremie Azou and Pierre Houin and the O’ Donovan brothers from Ireland met last month at the European Rowing Championships with the Olympic order staying the same. Both of these talented crews will race strong opposition from Poland and Great Britain.

The Irish team in full to compete at the event is as follows:

LM2x: Gary O’ Donovan (Skibbereen RC) & Paul O’ Donovan (UCDBC)

LM2-: Mark O’ Donovan (Skibbereen RC) & Shane O’ Driscoll (Skibbereen RC)

W1x: Sanita Puspure (Old Collegians BC)

W1x: Monika Dukarska (Killorglin RC)

LW1x: Denise Walsh (Skibbereen RC)

W2-: Aileen Crowley (UCD BC) & Aifric Keogh (UCC RC)

Coaches: Sean Casey and Dominic Casey

Ireland will also be sending 3 para-athletes to Poznan, for classification only, with the view to building a Team for the 2018 season; Marianne Watchorn (Trinity), Aaron Stokes (Castleconnell) and Damien Dulea from Quintin RC in London, but who is originally from Cork.

Poznan will be the first World Rowing event where Para-Rowing is raced on the same “field of play” at 2’000 metres following the decision taken at the FISA Extraordinary Congress last February in Tokyo.

Racing begins on Friday 16 June 2017 at 8:30 CET with heats for the para-rowing boat classes. Racing then moves on to World Cup and International boat classes. It progresses through repechages and semifinals to the finals. The first finals will be raced on Saturday 17 June starting at 16:24 CET with the para-rowing finals followed by International boat class finals. World Cup finals will take place on Sunday 18 June starting at 10:35 CET. These will be broadcasted on several television channels around the world and will be live video streamed on

Regatta information can be found here, and entries here.


Main Sponsors:

Business Suppliers: