World Cup II Update

Updated 20 June 2014 @ 15:46

Thomas Kelly raced at 16-51 Thursday night in the ASM1x and finished 5th in his Heat, Repechage today 18-30

Please note FISA website scheduled racing start times are incorrect and we are attempting to gain correct times

8-10 am LM1x Paul O’Donovan Heat 3 finished 1st and goes to the AB Semi at 10-05 Saturday 21st

8 am LM1x Mark O’Donovan Heat 1 finished 5th Repechage today 14-00. Forth in repechage – to C final tomorrow at 9:55

8-40 am W2- Lisa Dilleen & Leonora Kennedy Heat 2 finished 3rd AB Semi Saturday 12-00

9-40am LW2x Claire Lambe & Denise Walsh Heat 2 finished 3rd Repechage today 14-45. Second place for LW2x in their repechage. Through to semi-final on Saturday at 12.42.

10-15am W2x Eimear Moran & Monika Dukarska Heat 1 finished 5th Repechage today 15-15. Go through to C Final tomorrow – Time to be updated.

10-30am M1x John Keohane Heat 1 finished 5th Repechage today 15-20. Through to D Final, Race time to be updated.

11am W1x Sanita Puspure Heat 3 finished 2nd to AB Semis Saturday 15-20

check out for the full schedule of racing.


11 High Performance athletes travelled yesterday to Aiguebelette, France, to compete in the World Cup 2. This event is the second installment of the 2014 World Cup series, the first World Cup took place in Sydney in March, where no Irish crews competed.

Niall Kenny, originally selected to compete in the Lightweight Pair, will not be travelling to the competition due to personal reasons. His original pair partner, Mark O’Donovan, will now compete in the Lightweight Single Scull, alongside Paul O’Donovan.

The event has attracted huge entries from across the world, 700 rowers from 46 countries, all keen to familiarise themselves with the venue. Next year Aiguebelette will host the 2015 World Rowing Championships, which will be the main Olympic Qualification event.

World Rowing has a dedicated event page, with results, photos, videos and other information here.

We wish all Irish crews the very best of luck at this event.

A team of 12 athletes have been selected to represent Ireland at the World Cup 2 in Aiguebelette, France from 20-22 June 2014.    The athletes will be competing in eight events, including one Para rowing event.  This is an important step for Irish crews on the road to the 2016 Olympic Games.  The qualification event for the Olympics, the 2015 World Championships, will be held at the same venue in August next year.

Six of the athletes were selected based on their convincing performances at international events earlier this season: the highlight of which was Sanita Puspure’s bronze medal at the European Championships.  She will again compete in the Women’s Single Scull.

Leonora Kennedy and Lisa Dilleen will again compete in the Women’s Pair, hoping to improve on their result from the European Championships, where they finished in fourth place.

Eimear Moran and Monika Dukarska have also been selected to compete in the Women’s Double Scull, the same event in which they won a bronze medal at an international regatta in April.

Paul O’Donovan will again compete in the Lightweight Single Scull, ahead of the U23 World Championships in July, where will be hoping to improve on his bronze medal winning performance last year.

Ireland will be represented in the Lightweight Women’s Double Scull, the only Olympic event for lightweight women, for the first time since 2012 by Claire Lambe and Denise Walsh.  Both athletes had a successful season competing in Single Sculls in 2013: Lambe finishing 4th at the European Championships and Walsh finishing 6th in the same discipline at the U23 World Championships.  They will be hoping their speed as individuals will translate to a crew boat in their first international race in this combination.

John Keohane also joins the team, in the Men’s Single Scull, after missing the early stages of the 2014 season due to illness.  He will be hoping to improve on his performances in 2013 international season, where he finished 17th at the European Championships in the Men’s Single Scull.  Last month Keohane competed at the prestigious Metropolitan Regatta in the UK, where he won the Men’s Elite and Senior titles.

Another new combination have been selected to compete in the Lightweight Pair: Niall Kenny and Mark O’Donovan.  Both are experienced international competitors: both won a silver medal at the Under 23 World Championships in 2011, and both have years of international experience behind them.

Tom Kelly returns to the Irish team for the first time in 2014, after being selected to compete in the Men’s Arms and Shoulders Single Scull, a Paralympic discipline.  He competed in the same event at the 2013 World Cup 2, where he finished in eight place overall.

“Our team, looking on the past two international regattas, are performing well.” says High Performance Director, Morten Espersen, “The Women’s Single Scull will be a very challenging event, but hopefully Sanita can again match the Olympic Champion, Mirka Knapkova of the Czech Republic, as she did at the European Championships.  The Women’s Pair have shown great performances, hopefully this time they can get on the podium.  This will be the last senior international event before the 2014 World Championships in August.  After this regatta there will be a long period of tough training and evaluation of crews”

World Cup 2, Aiguebelette, France

Friday 20th – Sunday 22nd June 2014

Full Irish Team:

Women’s Single Sculls

Sanita Puspure (Old Collegians BC)

Women’s Double Sculls              

Eimear Moran (Three Castles RC)

Monika Dukarska (Killorglin RC)

Women’s Pair

Lisa Dilleen (Grainne Mhaol RC)

Leonora Kennedy (Portora BC)

Lightweight Women’s Double Sculls

Denise Walsh (Skibbereen RC)               

Claire Lambe (Old Collegians BC)

Men’s Single Sculls

John Keohane (Lee Valley RC)

Lightweight Men’s Single Sculls

Paul O’Donovan (UCD BC)

Lightweight Men’s Pair

Niall Kenny (UCD BC)

Mark O’Donovan (UL RC)

AS Men’s Single Scull 

Tom Kelly (Commercial RC)

Support Staff:

Team Manager: Morten Espersen

Lead Coach: Don Mc Lachlan

HP Coach: John Holland

HP Para Coach: Peter Heaney

ISC Physiotherapist: Sarah-Jane McDonnell

Trailer Drivers: Morten Espersen, Jer Field, Eamonn Colclough

Main Sponsors:

Business Suppliers:

HTML Snippets Powered By :