World Rowing Championships 2015 Team Selection


A total of 15 athletes are selected for the Rowing Ireland team at the World Championships, Olympic & Paralympic qualification events.


  • W1x; Sanita Puspure (Old Collegians BC)
  • LW1x; Denise Walsh (Skibbereen RC)
  • W2x; Lisa Dilleen (Grainne Mhaol RC) & Helen Hannigan (Three Castles RC)
  • LW2x; Sinead Jennings (St. Michaels RC) & Claire Lambe (Old Collegians BC)
  • W4-; Monika Dukarska (Killorglin RC), Leonora Kennedy (Portora BC), Aifric Keogh (UCC RC) & Barbara O’Brien (UCC RC)


  • LM2x; Paul O’Donovan (UCD BC) & Gary O’Donovan (Skibbereen RC)
  • LM2-; Shane O’Driscoll (Skibbereen RC) & Mark O’Donovan (Old Collegians BC)
  • ASM1x; Karol Doherty (City of Derry BC)


  • Don McLachlan, Lead Coach and coach of W1x, LW2x & LW1x
  • Giuseppe De Capua, Coach of W2x
  • Dominic Casey, Coach of LM2x
  • Sean Casey, Coach of LM2- & W4-
  • Declan Doherty, Para Coach of ASM1x


  • Morten Espersen, HPD & Team manager
  • Andrew Coleman, Ass. Team manager & Towing Vehicle
  • Sarah Jane McDonnell, Physiotherapist

The 2015 World Championships will take place in Aiguebelette, France, from 30th August to 6th September. The  Championships regularly see more than 1,000 athletes from over 60 nations competing. World Champions are determined in the 14 Olympic and 5 para-rowing boat classes as well as in the non-Olympic boat classes. These World Championships will also act as the main qualification regatta for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

Lake Aiguebelette hosted the 1997 World Rowing Championships and the 2014 World Rowing Cup II, and rowers greatly appreciate the course for its natural beauty, clean water and great racing conditions.

Congratulations to all selected athletes, and good luck to all the crews and their coaches at the upcoming World Championships. The ultimate goal of Rio 2016 is now coming into view.

Aiguebelette, France

Main Sponsors:

Business Suppliers:

HTML Snippets Powered By :