On the third and final day of racing at the World Rowing Coastal Championships, a brisk headwind and choppy waters lent an extra level of difficulty for the Irish crews taking part at the event at Praia da Torre, Oeiras, Portugal.

34 Irish crews competed across the event, with 10 crews competing in B finals and 14 making it to A Finals. An overall total of 34 nations took part in the competition.

A Finals took place on the 6 kilometre course while B Finals took place on the 4 kilometre course, testing the endurance of the crews. Beach starts took place throughout the day in accordance with the water’s conditions. Full results from the Irish crews competing today follow below.


B Final

IRL2 (Galley Flash RC) – John Harrington: 16th (24:31)

A Final

IRL1 (Rosscarbery RC) – Kealan Mannix: 10th (29:17)


B Final

IRL1 (Wicklow RC) – Shay Dunne, Chris Dunne, Andrew Breen, Peter Doyle, and Marc Nichols: 4th (19:46)

IRL2 (Passage West RC) – Patrick O’Sullivan, James Kind, Robert Diffley, Gavin O’Flaherty, and Martin Murphy: 8th (20:15)

A Final

IRL5 (Shandon BC/Portmagee RC) – Stephen O’Sullivan, Ciaran Brady, Alex Byrne, Ronan Byrne, and David Hussey: 8th (24:08)

IRL4 (St. Patrick’s RC/Cairndhu RC) – Derek Boland, Karl Montgomery, Niall O’Toole, Niall Beggan, and Lisa Lamont: 20th


B Final

IRL6 (Muckross RC) – Caoimhe O’Sullivan and Finn O’Sullivan: 12th (21:48)

IRL2 (St Michael’s RC/St Patrick’s RC) – Davinia Anderson and Niall O’Toole: 14th (23:00)

IRL3 (Donegal bay RC) – Rosie Temple and Luke Keaney: 17th (23:33)

IRL4 (Kilmacsimon RC) – Dara Jennings and Davin Jennings: 20th

A Final

IRL5 (Killorglin RC/Shandon BC) – Monika Dukarska and Ronan Byrne: 8th (26:38)


A Final

IRL5 (Killorglin RC) – Rhiannon O’Donoghue, Zoe Hyde, Natalie Long, Molly Sullivan, and Deirdre Leahy: 4th (28:25)

IRL2 (Cairndhu RC) – Joy McNeill, Lisa Lamont, Roisin Maguire, Sarah Quinn, and Ryan McNeill: 13th (30:51)

IRL1 (Castletownshend RC) – Eimear Walsh, Karen Hickey, Eileen Whooley, Ella Cialis, and Jack Calnan: 14th (31:04)


A Final

IRL1 (Arklow RC) – Sionna Healy: 5th (35:49)

IRL3 (Castletownbere RC) – Miriam Sheehan: 7th (36:14)

IRL2 (Arklow RC) – Xena Jordan: 11th (36:37)

IRL4 (Galley Flash RC) – Niamh Hayes: 18th (39:24)


A Final

IRL2 (Arklow RC) – Andrea Kinsella and Mary Ann Kent: 11th (31:18)

IRL5 (Kincasslagh RC) – Dineka Maguire and Niamh Doogan: 12th (31:37)

IRL3 (Cairndhu RC) – Lisa Lamont and Sarah Quinn: 19th (33:03)


B Final

IRL3 (Castletownbere RC) – Roisin Merz, Cliona O’Regan, Nina Murphy, Orla Gilsenan, and Carmel Connolly: 1st (22:29)

IRL4 (Passagewest RC) – Tina O’Sullivan, Hazel Murphy, Kathy Galvin, Katherine Murphy, and Martin Murphy: 12th (28:04)