Rowing Ireland Awards

After careful consideration of all public nominations, the committee has created a shortlist of nominees for the 2023 Rowing Ireland Awards.

Winners of the awards will be announced at the Rowing Ireland Awards night which will take place on the 18th of November at the Midlands Park Hotel, Portlaoise.

Tickets for the event are available to purchase HERE

Club of the Year

  • University of Limerick Rowing Club
  • Rosscarbery Rowing Club
  • Castleconnell Boat Club

Coach of the Year

  • Saoirse Byrnes – Castleconnell Boat Club
  • Derek Holland – Enniskillen Royal Boat Club
  • Fergus Hannon – Athlone Boat Club

Up and Coming Rower of the Year

  • Joe Tanner – University of Limerick Rowing Club
  • Alison Bergin – Fermoy Rowing Club
  • Konan Pazzaia – Queens University Belfast Boat Club

Senior Male Rower of the Year

  • Nathan Timoney – Queens University Belfast Boat Club
  • Fintan McCarthy – Skibbereen Rowing Club
  • Ross Corrigan – Portora Boat Club

Senior Female Rower of the Year

  • Zoe Hyde – Killorglin Rowing Club
  • Siobhán McCrohan – Tribesmen Rowing Club

Junior Male Rower of the Year

  • Shane Rafferty – St Michael’s Rowing Club
  • Martin Siltanen – St Joseph’s Rowing Club
  • Eoghan Hinchy – St Michael’s Rowing Club

Junior Female Rower of the Year

Note: Error was made in original shortlist, there will be four athletes shortlisted for this award

  • Holly Davis – Lee Valley Rowing Club
  • Annick Frohburg – Castleconnell Boat Club
  • Ella Clarke – Sligo Rowing Club
  • Méabh McNamara – Donegal Bay Rowing Club

Umpire of the Year

  • Andrew Tubman – Belfast Rowing Club
  • Kayla McCann – St Michael’s Rowing Club
  • John McCarthy – Cork Boat Club

Volunteer of the Year

  • Bernie O’Leary – Edermine Ferry Rowing Club
  • Caitríona Mannion – Galway RC/St Josephs RC
  • Brian Richardson – St Michaels Rowing Club
  • Gabriel Cox – Carrick on Shannon Rowing Club
  • Paul Gallen – Athlone Boat Club
  • Joe Gleeson – Castleconnell Boat Club
  • Michael R Hughes – Galway RC
  • Michelle McDonagh – Shannon Rowing Club
  • Gordon Reid – Lagan Scullers Club
  • October Volunteer of the Month TBD (Nominations open HERE)

Women in Sport Advocate

  • Aifric Keogh – Dublin University Ladies Boat Club
  • Eithne Tiernan – Shandon Boat Club
  • Eva Breheny Clarke – University College Dublin Ladies Boat Club

Rowability Award of the Year

  • Peter Cassidy – Tribesmen Rowing Club
  • Steven McGowan – Galway Rowing Club
  • Deirdre O’Hara – Galway Rowing Club

Congratulations to all nominee’s. We look forward to recognising your achievements on November 18th