The Olympic Federation of Ireland has officially selected the rowing team that will compete at the Olympic Games in Paris this summer. A record number of crews have qualified for Team Ireland at these Games, with sixteen athletes to compete across seven boats. The rowing events occur in Vaires-sur-Marne Nautical Stadium, to the southeast of the city, and run from the 27 July until the 2 August.

The Team Ireland rowing team includes nine Tokyo Olympians and six rowers with Olympic medals. The qualification process for rowing at the Olympics involved crews winning quota spots for the nation at the World Championships last year, for the pairs and the doubles, and at the Final Olympic Qualification Regatta in Lucerne this year for the fours.

While the crews that will compete in Paris contain the same athletes that qualified those boats, the standard of rowing within Ireland ensured that the competition for selection for the crews was hard-fought.

Thursday, 20 June, is the official team day for the Team Ireland rowers, which will see the athletes receiving their kit, and being honoured in front of their families and friends. Following this team day, the lightweight crews will continue on to Banyoles, Spain, where they finalise their training, and the rest of the team will train in Varese, Italy, before meeting in Paris in July.

Speaking on the official selection, Tokyo Olympic Champion, Fintan McCarthy, said,

“It’s been a great Olympic cycle for the whole team, and we are excited to just get out there in Paris and perform to our best. These opportunities don’t come around too often, so I’m looking forward to putting in the final touches over the coming weeks and enjoying it. In Paris, the atmosphere will be something else and a very different experience to Tokyo, and that’s something we are also excited about.”

Olympic Federation of Ireland Chef de Mission for Paris 2024, Gavin Noble said,

“In Ireland, we have such a strong tradition in rowing, and in Olympic rowing. In our centenary year, we should be entering a team of this calibre. The qualification of seven boats demonstrates the success of the high-performance rowing programme at the National Rowing Centre in Cork.

“We are looking forward to supporting the entire team, and their ambition, as they approach the Olympic regatta in Paris next month.

Antonio Maurogiovanni, Rowing Performance Director said,

We are delighted to be able to officially announce the team of rowers that will represent Ireland at this years Olympic Games. This event only comes around every four years, and showcases the pinnacle of rowing, with only a select few of the best crews in the world getting the opportunity to compete.

This is the largest rowing team that Ireland has ever sent to a games with 16 athletes set to race on the Olympic course. The focus remains on the preparation over the next five weeks, but today is a very exciting day for all athletes, coaches, families and support staff.”

Michelle Carpenter, Rowing Ireland CEO said,

Congratulations to the biggest ever Rowing Ireland team on your selection for the 2024 Paris Games! Your dedication, along with the invaluable support of our HP team and our incredible back room staff, board, volunteers, our key stakeholders Sport Ireland, Sport NÍ and the Olympic Federation and of course the significant role of all of our clubs has made this achievement possible. Best of luck on this exciting journey ahead.

Selected Crews

Men’s Lightweight Double Scull:

Paul O’Donovan (Skibbereen Rowing Club)
Fintan McCarthy (Skibbereen Rowing Club)

Women’s Lightweight Double Scull:

Margaret Cremen (UCC Rowing Club)
Aoife Casey (Skibbereen Rowing Club)

Men’s Double Scull:

Philip Doyle (Belfast Boat Club)
Daire Lynch (Clonmel Rowing Club)

Women’s Double Scull:

Zoe Hyde (Tralee Rowing Club)
Alison Bergin (Fermoy Rowing Club)

Men’s Pair:

Ross Corrigan (Portora Boat Club)
Nathan Timoney (Enniskillen Royal Boat Club)

Women’s Pair:

Aifric Keogh (Gráinne Mhaol Boat Club)
Fiona Murtagh (University of Galway Boat Club)

Women’s Four:

Emily Hegarty (UCC Rowing Club)
Natalie Long (Lee Valley Rowing Club)
Eimear Lambe (Old Collegians Boat Club)
Imogen Magner (Carlow Rowing Club)
Holly Davis (Lee Valley Rowing Club) (Reserve)

Coaching Team

Antonio Maurogiovanni – High Performance Director
Dominic Casey – Head Lightweight Coach
Giuseppe DeVita – Head Women’s Coach
Fran Keane – Head Men’s Coach
Ashlee Rowe – Women’s Coach
Nicolo Maurogiovanni – Men’s Coach
David Breen – Paralympic Coach

Support Staff

Orla Doolin – Physio
Heather O’Brien – Physio
George Fuller – Team Doctor
Cathal Sheridan – Team Psychologist
⁠Laura Mahoney – Team Nutritionist
Pat Feerick – Driver⁠
John Barrett – Driver
Michael O’Rourke – Team Manager

More Information

Please contact for further information.