Rowing Ireland’s High-Performance Director, Antonio Maurogiovanni, has announced the athletes who will represent Ireland at the 2024 U23 and U19 World Championships and the Coupe de la Jeunesse.

Racing at the World Championships will commence on August 18th in St. Catharines, Canada, while the Coupe de la Jeunesse will take place from August 9th to 11th in Racice, Czech Republic.

This is the largest U23 team that Ireland has ever fielded at a World Championships,” Maurogiovanni stated. “These events are crucial for athlete development, with many of our current senior team members having participated in these competitions early in their careers. We have 15 crews competing across the World Championships and Coupe de la Jeunesse, which is a testament to our athletes and their clubs.”

Both Coupe and World U19 and U23 teams will train at the National Rowing Centre in preparation for these international events.

U23 World Championship Crews

Men’s Sculling Team

  • Andrew Sheehan (University College Cork RC)
  • Brian Colsh (University of Galway BC)
  • Adam Murphy (University College Cork RC)
  • Finn O’Reilly (Skibbereen RC)
  • Donagh Claffey (University of Galway BC)
  • Fergus Bryce (Queens University Belfast BC)
  • Shane Rafferty (St. Michael’s RC)

Lightweight Men’s Double

  • Donnacha Keely (University of Galway BC)
  • Ciaran Purdy (Queens University Belfast BC)

Men’s Coxless Four

  • Rory Buckley (University College Cork RC)
  • Liam Walter (University of Limerick RC)
  • Andrew O’Leary (Presentation RC)
  • Luke Dunleavy (University College Dublin BC)

Women’s Double

  • Grace Healy (Dublin University Ladies BC)
  • Holly Davis (Lee Valley RC)

Lightweight Women’s Double

  • Áine O’Mahoney (Fermoy RC)
  • Sophia Monahan (Lee Valley RC)

U19 World Championship Crews

Men’s Quad

  • Séan Morris (Tralee RC)
  • Jack Rafferty (St. Michael’s RC)
  • Rian Claffey (Athlone RC)
  • Michael McGrath (Cappoquin RC)

Men’s Coxed Four

  • Evan O’Byrne (St. Michael’s RC)
  • Michael Dan Lucey (Lee Valley RC)
  • Mattias Cogan (Skibbereen RC)
  • Dominic Casey (Skibbereen RC)
  • Cox – Luke Fitzgerald (Castleconnell RC)

Women’s Double

  • Moya Knowles (Skibbereen RC)
  • Anna Brennan (New Ross BC)

Coupe de la Jeunesse Crews

Men’s Quad

  • Daniel Fleming (Muckross RC)
  • Adam Kenny (Athlone BC)
  • Eoin Balfe (St. Michaels RC)
  • Ian Coffey (Muckross RC)

Women’s Quad

  • Sophia Young (Methodist College)
  • Sibéal Ní Fhlaithbheartaigh (Castleconnell BC)
  • Sarah Walsh (Sligo RC)
  • Louise Forrester (Shandon RC)

Women’s Coxless Four

  • Aida Hehir (St. Michaels RC)
  • Cloda Philips (St. Michaels RC)
  • Jessica Crowley (Skibbereen RC)
  • Lorna McNamara (Castleconnell BC)

Men’s Single

  • Richard Heaslip (Athlone RC)

Women’s Single

  • Aoife Hendy (Skibbereen RC)

Coaching Staff

  • Antonio Maurogiovanni (High Performance Director)
  • Clara O’Brien (High Performance Pathway Coordinator)
  • John Armstrong (Queen’s University Belfast BC)
  • David Breen (High Performance Para Coach)
  • Janet Walsh (New Ross BC)
  • Fergie Hannon (Athlone BC)
  • Andy Purdy (Queen’s University Belfast BC)
  • Caitlin Ward (Queen’s University Belfast BC)
  • Derek Bowen (Castleconnell BC – Coupe Team Manager)